Skip to main content

Mike Abrams

President and CEO

Ohio Hospital Association

Mike Abrams, an experienced association executive with health care policy and government affairs expertise, joined OHA in 2012 as president and CEO. He leads a team of more than 45 associates, supports a 20-member Board of Trustees, serves on a variety of health care and hospital taskforces and committees and works with the 2,300 members of seven OHA-affiliated societies to guide the association toward its mission of collaborating with member hospitals and health systems to ensure a healthy Ohio.


Upon arriving at OHA, Abrams directed the strategic planning effort that generated a three-year guide to implement OHA’s value proposition: As the united voice of Ohio’s hospital community, OHA leverages data and expertise to be the leader in influencing health policy, driving quality improvement initiatives and advocating for economic sustainability to serve a diverse membership.


Mike serves on the American Hospital Association Board of Trustees and serves on the AHA Board’s Task Force on Workforce, the AHA Institute for Diversity and Health Equity Leadership Council and the board of the Health Forum. Mike chairs the Board of Directors of Health Forum, Inc., a strategic business enterprise of the AHA, creatively partnering to develop and deliver essential information and innovative services to help health care leaders achieve organizational performance excellence and sustainability. Additionally, Mike serves on the board of Health is Everybody’s Business, an affiliate of the Ohio Business Roundtable, and chairs the American College of Healthcare Executives Health Associations Committee.


He has been named a Champion of Health Care by Columbus Business First and a member of the SMART 50 group by Smart Business Magazine for his leadership in health care education and advocacy. 


Prior to OHA, Mike was the executive vice president and CEO of the Iowa Medical Society from 1996 to 2012. He previously led government relations for the Indiana State Medical Association for nine years and is a graduate of Indiana University where he earned a bachelor’s degree in Political Science and a master’s degree in Public Administration.